László Karácsonyi, a nobleman from Armenian-Hungarian family and the Grand Prince of Torontal Principality, built the castle in Novo Miloševo on the estate in Beodra in 1842 or 1846. It is a countryside type of castle typical for castles built outside the town. It was surrounded by outbuildings and premises, horse stables, warehouses, cattle stables and apartments for workers and service. Although it was intended for housing, it was also the management office for the entire estate. The castle was built in classical architectural style familiar for that time. It has long rectangular base, ground floor and upstairs. On the main façade are shallow avant-corps that end with pediments. In the middle is the deep porch with columns on its sides. Upstairs are Corinthian columns with arhitriv, frieze and triangular pediment. This rural castle was abandoned before the end of the First World War. Aladár Karácsonyi, great grandson of László Karácsonyi, never return to the estate because he didn’t want to enjoy in the old family glory (that is what papers say). After the War, in 1919 Mr. Rozđanko moved into the castle. He was a member of the Whitearmy and a former president of the Fourth Russian Duma. He lived in the castle as a Karađorđević family friend till 1922. Part of the land was given to the peasants after the Agrarian Reform, and the castle was sold to Beodra municipality in 1938. There was an elementary school for a while in the castle, then a mental institution during the Second World War and after the War it was a the Home for Children of Fallen Heroes. The destiny wanted that this place became the home of neglected girls, and in 1960 it was an elementary school again, named “Miloš Popov”. Detergent factory Hinom moved into the castle in 1980 and stayed there until 2000. Unfortunately in the last few decades the castle has been abandoned and hasn’t got its purpose. Fortunately, it was partly preserved, so it looks appealing even in such a bed condition. What we can hear today about this landlord’s family, the rich history of this family and the populated place in general, is worth the attention.
Karácsonyi family came to Banat from Transylvania in the 18th century. Transylvanian Prince Regent gave them noble title so when they came to Banat they were already crowned and gained enormous wealth, social and political recognition. Bogdan Karácsonyi was known as the first Banat landowner. When the Turkish sipahis in Banat had been sold in 1781, he bought Novo Miloševo (Beodra in Hungarian) for 103.000,00 ft. and named it Beodra. Considering the family had the title, they had been changin their emblem constantly adding different family’s symbols. At the end they had a very complex coat of arms with mermaids, golden horns ox, a bear that holds a golden sword and a prancing panther. Now it stands on the catholic church crypt in Novo Miloševo and on the stained glass on the former Zrenjanin municipality building.
Karácsonyi family had enormous estates. They administrated ten settlements in Torontal Principality, and owned lands in Srem, Timis and Pest counties. The landowner Laszlo Karácsonyi’s residence stands out by its size and the building elements (classicism with romanticism elements). Except the central building, outbuildings and premises, which represent an inseparable whole with the castle, there is a big grain warehouse that has a ground floor and upstairs with architecturally arranged pillars and pediments on the gate made from wrought iron since 1834. The most interesting part of the former barn, locally known as the Kotarka (corn barn), is the wooden construction which still stands on the original trestle. Today this building is historical – ethnographic museum “Kotarka” that keeps pieces of the furniture, clothes, ball gowns, lackey clothes and many more that left from the past.
There were two large castles in Beodra (Novo Miloševo). Two cousins from Karácsonyi family were building at the same time and almost as rivals compete in richness and luxury of these two castles. Unfortunately, one of them doesn’t exist any more – the residence of Lajos Karácsonyi that was built in 1857. Lajos’s son, Gvido Karácsonyi became the most famous member of the family. He valued art and culture and invested a lot in it. He was the known patron to the great artists and scientists and benefactor in Beodra. His sons, Aladar and Jane, inherited the castle but it was uninhabited since 1912, and in 1932 it was knocked down by then owner, Serbian businessman who wanted easy money.
Fortunately, the other castle remains in its location as a cultural monument of great importance. Today it has a special place on the tourist map of our municipality.