St. Istvan Church
Torontál County had issued an order for building the first Catholicchurch in the place where it stands today, in 1881. Before that, the believers used the rooms in FejesJános’s house to attend services. The house was located next to today's church. At the time, the church got 120km2 of farmland and with the money earned from the land, the first priest of this church (Plébános), MakraImre from Szeged, got paid. A parish house was built and conditions for building the church were made.
The new Catholic church, dedicated to St.István, was built in the period around 1903 in the Gothic style. To the satisfaction of Catholic believers, the church was built with the help from expert engineers and restorers of the time. KelnerMiska drew the church plan under the supervision of the engineer Budai and the constructor DéryIstván. Kiss Ferenc painted the altar, and StojanLazić did the rest of the painting in 1926. Kiss Ferenc was in charge for the works of art and the altar. Two side altars: the Virgin Mary and the Holy Family are the authenticity of this church. The clock on the tower of the church is reminiscent of the transience and the importance of every moment in life ... The big bells were placed before masonry because they couldn’t pass through the door. They were required in the Great War as well as the other church bells. The church tower is 46m high. The first priest left his church and went to Budapest to work as a journalist.
The Catholic priest from our municipality, JózefMeler, and his predecessor, SótiJános, had been raising money for the church restoration for many years, and finally in 2014, with significant help of Novi Bečej municipality and the Local Community Office, they managed to renovate and restore the church.